Receiving the James B. Morris Scholarship is truly a blessing to me.  It shows that all my hard work is not for nothing.  This Scholarship is an investment in education of receiving my Bachelors of Science in Nursing and aides in building my educational foundation.
My educational goals are to receive a Master’s Degree in Nursing, furthering my education with a Doctoral degree in Nursing Practice with a minor in Holistic medicine.  My specialty areas will be Obstetrician & Gynecology and family practice.  
By awarding me the James B. Morris scholarship, not only lightened my financial burden, but allowed me to focus more on the most important aspect of school and learning.  Your generosity has inspired me to help others and give back to the community.  I am deeply appreciative of your support.
Thank you again for your thoughtful and generous gift.

~ Alyssa T. Carter


2016 James B. Morris Scholarship Recipients

James B. Morris Named Scholars

Daniel Bell, Iowa State University
Indianola High School

Chaz Clark, Iowa State University
Oswego East High School (Illinois)

Hausten Irving, Iowa State University    
Northeast Magnet High School (Kansas)    

Jazzaray James
Roosevelt High School, Des Moines

Quinton Jenkins, Morehouse College
Carlisle High School

Leroy Alexander McGarity, Iowa State University
Roosevelt High School, Des Moines

Julian Neely, Iowa State University
Johnston High School

Hanh Hilary Nguyen, University of Iowa    
Norwalk High School

Faith Wortherly    
Waukee High School

Kellen Zanders, Minnesota College of Art & Design
Roosevelt High School, Des Moines

Brittany Hall Named Scholars

Rebekah Bell, Iowa State University    
Ames High School

Brittany Nguyen
Roosevelt High School, Des Moines

EMC Insurance Companies Named Scholars

Madeline Edmonds
East High School, Des Moines

Jalen Jones
Roosevelt High School, Des Moines

Sofia Legaspi
Waukee High School

Tessa Mendoza
Dowling High School, West Des Moines   

Linden Rundels
John F. Kennedy High School, Cedar Rapids

Ann Chapman Named Scholars

Yvetta Garcia
Denison High School

Vincent Chapman Named Scholars

Jeremiah Chandler
Roosevelt High School, Des Moines

Wells Fargo Named Scholars

 Aaron Goitom, Iowa State University
Valley High School, West Des Moines

Nicholas Lee, Bethel University
Johnston High School

Catherine Williams Named Scholars

Abigail Peterson, Simpson College
Shenandoah High School





Full Morris Scholarship Recipient - Quinton JenkinsQuentinJenkins

Quinton is a graduate of Carlisle High School and entering his Sophomore year at Morehouse College majoring in Pre-Med.  Quinton plans to pursue a career as a Surgeon. "I am truly grateful to my family and friends who have provided me with the guidance to reach my full potential. I would like to thank the James B. Morris Scholarship Board for believing in me and giving me the opportunity to reach my dreams."

Support the Fund

Thank you for your donation.


Carter.png Kamalumpundi.png Legaspi.png Neely.png Rojas.png Lam.png Jenkins.png Drummer.png Lee.png James.png Flores.png Ali.png Gardner.png Koger.png Deering3.png Andrade.png Irvin.png Jones.png Edmonds2.png Willig.png Mendoza.png
Go to top